Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy cover
Vampire Academy cover

Okay, the first thing I want to say is…doesn’t the chick on the cover look like Angelina Jolie? I swear to God it’s her from that movie. Whatever, it’s just weird.

So, I have to admit I went into this book with expectations. After tons of friend recommend this I figured I might as well give it a go and see what all the fuss was about. I was even more intrigued when they said that it was very similar to the Covenant series (which I freaking adore). So either way I’d thought I’d win. It was interesting in the first few chapters, but I found myself kind of bored. Like every time I thought something different and exciting would happen, it turned out to be a bust. I thought it was stupid that they had so many “rumors” spread around. Like that and dead animals were just the most horrendous things that could happen to a person. Bitches and birds. Seriously, that’s what has you so upset in life as a vampire? I don’t know. That just kind of bugged me. And the whole Dimitri thing was kind of boring as well. You didn’t get a whole lot of scenes of them together and then it was like washy washy. I had no idea how the author could have Dimitri tell her he didn’t like her “in that way” and then the next thing he’s saying how he wanted her but he couldn’t. This all happened in probably ten pages.

I liked Rose. She was a pretty cool heroine. She was there for Lissa (a bit too much for my liking) and she wasn’t afraid to choke down the ego for a bigger purpose. Now Lissa on the other hand…WTF! I don’t get how a vampire can’t protect itself. They have magic, strength, and compulsion. But oh no! They have to have half humans (called dhampirs) who don’t have magic and no compulsion to speak of to save their wimpy asses. And holy crap if Lissa wasn’t  like the most pathetic thing ever!  She just annoyed me 24/7 in this book.

I just don’t know how to feel about this whole thing. I originally gave it three stars, but now it’s starting to feel like a 2.5 after I think about all the things this book was lacking. I guess all I can say is this is an acquired taste of sorts. Read at your own risk my fellow bookies.

 

Leave a Reply

