Saving Angel by J.L Weil

Image

Alright, so I’m going to warn ya’ll that there will be gushing in this review. Because this book effing rocked. I mean wanna cry because it’s over get together already or I’m going to come into the pages and make them kind of rocked. So before I start spewing more crap that won’t make a lick of sense to you, here’s the synopsis, (you can thank the new synopsis addition to my awesome friend, Cookie. BTW visit her crazy awesome blog at kookiekrysp.wordpress.com!)

Alternate Cover Edition

I couldn’t help but wonder what my life would be like if we had never moved to the ho-dunk town of Spring Valley, Illinois. Sure the internet service is splotchy, there is nothing but miles of wheat fields, and I probably wouldn’t be faced with death at every corner.

My only neighbor in this god forsaken town is…well, there really is only one to describe him—hot as hell. With his sinful dark looks, unusually silver eyes, and kissable lips, there is something about him that is more than meets the eye.

Of course I am determined to find out.

Chase Winters might be drool-worthy, but he is also insufferable, arrogant and…in short a d-bag. Our relationship is anything but love at first sight. Not even close. There is something weird about the family living next door.

What I hadn’t expected to find was an underworld of trouble.

Chase and his cousins Lexi and Travis are Divisa—half-demon, half-human. Getting them angry is hardly in my best interest, not if I want to live.

As it turns out, that might be the least of my problems. I’ve been tagged by Hell.

Now every ugly, nasty being from hades is on my trail. I have suddenly became a magnet for demon disaster, and the only way I am getting out of this alive was by putting my life in the demon spawn’s hands.

One wrong decision and my butt is toast.

 

The reason I loved this book SO MUCH was because it reminded me of Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. That is one kickass book that I recommend to EVERYBODY! But back to Saving Angel, I liked the new paranormal aspect. Now I know you’re going to be like, “What do you the demon thing is new? I’ve read tons of books with the same kind of plot.” Well not me. This was my first demon book and I was shocked by how much I enjoyed it. I have stayed away from the hell thing because I AM religious and don’t really care for some place I consider very real to be made into a teen storyline. But I felt that this one was very respectful and didn’t touch reality too much.

THINGS I LIKED:

I loved Angel, I loved her spunk, no crap attitude, how she didn’t throw pity parties for herself, and the ironicy of her name. I had to laugh when I read the part where she met Chase. Because little did she know she was talking to a half-demon and he found the pure name hysterical. And yes, she wasn’t too happy about the reaction lol. She’s dealt with a lot of crap in life and the fact that she lives next to spawns of evil just tops the list. And I love that her reaction would be to roll her eyes and say, “okay, do you sprout wings too to make this just a bit more ridiculous? “

Chase has to be a close cousin to Daemon Black because the similarities were ridiculous. You have a snarky, alpha male who wants nothing to do with Angel. He pushes her away yet can’t keep away from her for “unknown” reasons all at the same time. They were up, down, side ways and twisted in every respect. They were either fighting each other to the death or wanting to maul each other’s faces off. It’s so true when people say that the line between love and hate is thin. This book DEFINED that.

I also really enjoyed Travis and Lexi. Lexi was fun loving and made the situation between Angel and Chase lighter. She brought out the good in everybody and I loved her for it. Travis was cool too because he found an unlikely friend in Angel. Which I found cute when the two of them were “playing”. Overall the story was comic, tense, and had a lot of depth. 

 

THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE :

I have to admit, her mother irked me at times. It was like she didn’t even realize how hard it would be to move away from everything that is familiar to you, just to go to a place with a population of a few people and some corn fields. She was constantly gone (which I get would be hard to cover up the paranormal things from her if she was home) and I didn’t like that she was kind of like a room mate instead of a mother. 

I also hated Sierra with a passion. She was just a weird, unnecessary character in the story. And the fact that Chase didn’t care too much that she was a biotch to Angel just peeved me off more. 

 

I really enjoyed this book and I immediately picked up the sequel the minute I finished the last page. Which is a rare response for me lol. But I definitely recommend this to anyone who loves the hate/love relationship and an interesting plot line.

 

6 thoughts on “Saving Angel by J.L Weil

  1. okay Chase Winters is so hot. and can I say that I cannot WAIT until Chasing Angel is to be released in 2014? On a side note, have you read the novellas that have been published depicting Emma and Travis’s story? They are super good reads. I highly recommend them!

    1. Lol he is! I can’t wait for the third one to come out!!! I saw that there were novellas on Travis’s story but I didn’t get to them because I wasn’t a fan of Emma 😉 oh, and yeah I’m sorry to say I’m all out of free copies 😦

Leave a Reply

