The Fault in Our Stars

11870085

This is a book you will take in one of two ways: The first being that you are a normal person and you just thought that the characters were really weird and the whole book seemed pointless. Or, you could be slightly odd yourself and totally get this book in every way. Including the oddly mature cancer kids. I am in the latter group. I confess that I am a person who believes in happy endings. I don’t usually care for books that you know are going to make you cry and are going to end like crap just from reading the synopsis. So why I read this book doesn’t even make sense to me. But I think God and the universe have a way of intervening and giving you what you need before even you know yourself.

The Fault in Our Stars is about sixteen year old Hazel who is terminal. From the age of thirteen when her diagnosis took place, she has never been anything else but terminal. Since depression is a side affect of cancer (of dying, really) her mom decides it would be good for her to join a kids cancer support group. And like any teenager or person in general, the idea seemed stupid and pointless. Why would you go and be around other kids who are bound to die to make you feel better? To make you feel like you’re not alone in this battle? To me, it would just make me even more depressed that there WERE other people with the same fate as myself. In short, non-sick people just don’t get it. But there was a bright spot in support group. The weird yet fascinating Augustus Waters who took a philosophical view to everything. And I do mean everything.

Through this book you go on the journey of cancer and the suckiness it provides with Hazel and Augustus. You would think this book would only be depressing, but there are many laughs and insightful tid bits along the way. Like I said, if you are normal or have never been diagnosed with an illness, then this book may confuse you. But don’t let that stand in the way of you reading it. I almost let it do that to me and I would be horrified if it had done so. I myself have some medical afflictions that are a struggle on a day to day basis. That’s why I liked how Hazel and Augustus took their situation. They acted the way a person who knows they are going to have a short life would act in reality. Not everybody who has cancer or an incurable disease like myself are strong twenty-four seven or want to fight. Most days you feel like giving up and just saying, “Whatever freaking world. I’m done, you win.” But you know why we fight? For the ones who this disease really takes a toll on: your loved ones. When you’re gone, it will be them who live with the reality of this disease. You yourself deal with it for a while, but they will be the ones it effects for the rest of their lives. And that is what this book is about. Every reader will take away something different. Whether it be the strength of love or the cruelness of our universe. No two people will view this in the same way. And that is why The Fault in Our Stars is a book that will be either criticized or loved for years to come. I personally give this book a five star and beyond.

2 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars

Leave a Reply

