Of Poseidon (book #1 in The Syrena Legacy) by Anna Banks

12425532

synopsis:

Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen—literally, ouch!—both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma’s gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom…

Told from both Emma and Galen’s points of view, here is a fish-out-of-water story that sparkles with intrigue, humor, and waves of romance.

 

I just want to get it out there that this is only the second mermaid book I’ve read. And that is because the first was such a flop. The mythology had been off and weird and just…never mind, you get the idea. So let’s just say it didn’t sell me on guys with tails. But this book was a smidge better. At least the guy made a MOVE in this one! And with all of that, let’s get to the review, shall we?

 

THINGS I LIKED:

I liked how the book starts off. It starts immediately with the type of personailty Emma has and introduces you to the swoon worthy dude in literally two seconds flat. Perfect. It sets stuff up nice and gives you an idea of what’s to come. But that’s the  thing, you have no mother flipping idea what’s going on in this thing.

Number two, I liked Galen. He was cute, masculine, and not the sterotypical male lead in a paranormal YA. It was adorable watching him learn human ways and sayings and crap like that. He loved his family and would do anything for Emma. So major points for you big guy 😉

Again, I liked Emma. She was funny, real, and snarky at times. I love a three dimensional character and she definitely popped out of the pages for me. I was happy that she didn’t have the insta love thing and was like, “I will do whatever you say because you have a pretty six pack” through the whole book while drooling and stuff. Refreshing to say the least.

I even have a soft spot for Rayna. Though I could have punched her teeth out a few times in the beginning, but she perked up near the end and I liked her relationship with Toraf. Ah, and that brings me to beautiful Toraf. I will warn you guys, you might get cavities reading his parts because he is too sweet! I frigging loved him from the beginning and the love he had for Rayna. Even though she could be a raving bitch. But hey, who doesn’t have their bad days?

 

THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE:

The scenery. I felt like we didn’t get anything other than a very non-descript school and the beach. Other than that not much is going on scenic wise. Also, I was curious about some of the mythology with the Syrena. They can only have seafood or else they get sick. Really? Then how did all of those half-breeds survive on land for all of those years? Didn’t add up. Also the whole fin/mermaid thing. It said in the book that the guys had fins, but they never decribed them. Only that they were soft. We don’t know how they looked or anything. And how about the girl mermaids? You never knew if their fins looked different than the guys or if they had to wear, like, bikini tops or something like that to keep covered. So frustrating for me. I love envisioning the characters when they are described in detail so that it makes everything more real. Don’t expect any of that in this book.

I wasn’t digging Emma’s mother either. She seemed really rude, ignorant, and plain mean to her daughter sometimes. I couldn’t get why she was so disconnected to her.

And Grom is an idiot, straight up. I could have speared him with a swordfish for his sulking and bulheadedness. It’s been years dude, get over it. (If you read the book you’ll get what I mean.)

There are a lot of other little technical things, but I’m not going to list them all for you since it doesn’t really matter in the long run. I just couldn’t get into it for some reason. I felt like there were a lot of pages that were just empty. As a reader, I want to be excited to finish a book, not feel like it’s homework I have to get done for school. And honestly? It felt exactly like that. Maybe it’ll be different for you, but I’m a person that likes excitement at every turn in paranormal romance books/series.

Of Poseidon = 3 stars

Leave a Reply

