The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings #1) by J.R.R. Tolkien review

34

Synopsis:

“Frodo Baggins knew the Ringwraiths were searching for him – and the Ring of Power he bore that would enable Sauron to destroy all that was good in Middle-earth. Now it was up to Frodo and his faithful servant Sam to carry the Ring to where it could be detroyed – in the very center of Sauron’s dark kingdom.”

All I can say is that it’s a good thing that my library only had the three-book-in-one trilogy edition, or this synopsis would have made as much sense as a Chinese menu to me.

I’m not going to go into much detail on telling about the story because holy mother of God is it long to explain. So in a tiny nutshell, Frodo Baggins, a hobbit from the Shire, is left with the extraordinary task to get rid of The One ring. The ring that could destroy everything if it got into the Dark Lord’s hands. On this journey he has the Fellowship around him to help him on his way to destroying forever the ring that had befallen Bilbo years ago. Can he make the adventure without death or defeat???

I was actually really psyched to read this…in the beginning. And then I realized that it took me two hours to read 50 pages and I then wanted to throw the book through the wall. Anybody that knows me knows that I’m a fast reader. That’s not bragging, I’m just stating that I could probably read double those pages had it been another book. But by the way it was written, the sentence structures seemed to add on soooo much length to the book. Therefore, making it feel like it would never. Freaking. End.

I was very impressed with the complexity of the story. For something that was written nearly sixty years ago, the characters and creatures sounded like something thought of yesterday. And I guess that’s what makes a classic: a book that transcends decades, and in some cases, centuries later. That is certainly the case with The Lord of the Rings.

Something I didn’t really care for, though, was the journey itself. The whole book was just them on this road going from place to place and passing little dangers here and there. I never felt like they were in any serious danger. That is until…well, I won’t ruin it for those of you who are late bloomers to the series like myself. But even then it was a sad event though it finally gave some realism to the trek.

I did love the characters. I loved Frodo, Sam, Merry, Gandalf, Pippin, Bilbo, and all of the rest. I thought it was so cute how they talked and their little sayings and what not. That in itself gave the story some real character and definition. Also I was really impressed with the world building and description. Mr. Tolkien told about this world as if it was a place of actual existence and he has been a long time resident. I can see how it became a movie, and such a popular one at that, because this author left out no detail whatsoever for future movie makers to take inspiration from.

I’ll be honest, I kind of hate/like this book because I could appreciate parts and then in some I got bored. But what I can’t argue is that I have huge respect for someone that could think of such a fantastical world decades before there was even a breath of an idea of Harry Potter. To that, I bow to you Mr. Tolkien.

The Fellowship of the Ring = 3 stars

 

Leave a Reply

