Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout review

12578077

Don’t even get me started about the dude on the cover, just…God help me.

Synopsis:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.”

It isn’t too often in life that you come across something that is so close, if not, absolute perfection. I myself can’t say that I ever felt the overwhelming feeling until I read…Obsidian. ***cue mind being blown and dramatic movie trailer music***

I know this is a well known book and it has been out for quite some time, but I just reread this book for the 1224345456457457457 time today and I felt the enormous urge to write a ground breaking review :—-) I love a good paranormal story, but rarely do I ever come across an alien themed one. When I had first discovered this book, (like when the thing came out) I was hugely skeptical on that stereotype alone and didn’t purchase this literature gem for months. Yes, I want to kill myself now for holding back on a stupid prejudice. But I’m here now to teach you beautiful people to learn from my bone head mistake.

Katy Swartz has to be one of my favorite female leads of all time. She isn’t a whiner, a bitcher, a complainer, or a pouty pants. (pouty pants description: one who sits in a corner and let’s bottom lip protrude in a ridiculous manner for multiple chapters). This girl can sarcasm fight with the best of them, and I loved that about her. Not only does she have a great dimensional personality, but she also has the perfect sparring partner–Daemon Black. Oh yeah.

This book feeds on the absolute tension and hostility of these two hot heads. Both have wicked tongues and moods to match. They both made the book for me and give it a twist we don’t usually see in YA paranormal: they hate each other. Like seriously, I want to kill you and feed your body parts through a meat grinder kind of hate each other. I know that last description was gross, but it’s the truth. And I have to say that I love the mix up from the insta-love and sappy romance we usually get. Not saying that’s bad at all. Just that this deviation was just what the doctor ordered 😉

The whole story is focused around, in the beginning, Katy figuring out what her freaky twin neighbors really are, and the rest is just action and comedy all rolled into one exciting read. There is never a dragging moment where you’re wanting to page skip or yawn. And you relate to all of the characters in at least one way or another. Either with Katy’s wit, Dee’s sunshine personality and exuberance, or even Daemon’s snarkiness. You seriously don’t need much motivation to read these books because they all are ridiculously good and will have you dying for the next installment. Also, don’t miss Daemon’s POV in the back of each book. His thoughts on some of the scenes in key chapters are priceless 🙂

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout = 5 kickass awesome sauce stars

Leave a Reply

