American Girl on Saturn (Saturn #1 ) by Nikki Godwin

17798679

Synopsis:

“The summer after graduation is supposed to be that first real taste of freedom – but not for eighteen-year-old Chloe Branson. Just as that breeze of freedom is making its way into her galaxy, her secret-service-agent dad drops a meteor-sized bomb of bad news on her and her sisters. An attempt has been made on the lives of Canadian boyband, Spaceships Around Saturn, during their USA tour, and the guys have to go into hiding ASAP. The only problem? In the midst of the crisis and media frenzy, their dad volunteered to hide the guys…in their house.

Six-year-old Emery is as ecstatic as any self-proclaimed Saturnite would be, but Chloe and her seventeen-year-old sister Aralie watch their summer plans crash and burn like a falling star. The SAS guys aren’t happy with the situation, either. Bad boy Jules picks fights with Aralie about everything from his Twitter followers to his laundry, and heart-throb Benji can’t escape Emery’s fangirlisms for more than three minutes.

But after the super-cute Milo kisses Chloe during a game of hide-and-seek, she finally understands what Emery means when she talks about SAS being “out of this world.” If this is what Saturn feels like, Chloe doesn’t want to come back to Earth.”

Review

So…I am super excited to say that I have actually found another fellow author who deals in boy band romance!!! This is a HUGE thing to me because on amazon.com, the only books listed with mine are horrible, dirty rocker band stuff that has nothing to do with what my book is about. I was in despair, thinking the topic of boy bands was such a, well, undesirable topic that I was the only one who wrote about them. But guess what? I found this little beauty and the sun came out from the clouds, angels were freaking singing, and I no longer felt alone in this world of literature. You can bet both your biscuits that I liked this book. A lot.

This book is about three sisters: all of varying age, personality, and sass factor. Their summer was meant to be full of fun at Cancun and after graduation parties for Chloe, the oldest sister and the main character of the book. Her dad is in the secret service, so unusual crap effects this family regularly. The only difference is that this time, the situation includes five boys from Canada, and they are essentially stuck with each other in the house because said boys were, you know, SHOT AT! I know, twist factor 😉

Now lets get on with the characters. The five boys from Spaceships Around Saturn (aka the name of the band) are Noah, Milo, Jules, Tate, and Benji. They are an extremely popular boy band from Canada and each has a trait that I fell in love with. At first you think all are a bunch of moody hipsters that are spoiled rotten from their life style, but as the book progresses, so do the characters. I have to say my fave was Noah. Only because I really liked his personality and his relationship with one of the girls. Now don’t call me a spoiler, I’m not telling you which sister it is or the kind of relationship they have.

I know I should be a fan of the main guy, Milo, because he is the other main character in this superb book. But I think you all know by now if you read my reviews, that I like more of a bad boy in a story than the guy who wears a polo and can get in Harvard no problem. But still, I liked him a lot and the maturity he brought to the five boys; which at times was seriously needed.

Okay, so now we get to the sisters. Chloe (the oldest), Aralie (the middle child), and last Emery (the five year old baby sis). Each one was so unique in character that you can kind of relate to each of them in some weird way. Chloe is the quiet girl who got burned from a guy at school. She acts as the leader of the girls and is very mature for her age. Aralie is the kind of goth chick who listens to bands called Mutilated Arteries and makes fun of girls like her little sister, Emery, who just so happens to be Spaceships Around Saturn’s biggest fan. Chloe and Aralie aren’t fans of SAS, not even close. But with a summer, anything can change.

My Final Thoughts

I thought this book was awesomely (if that is a word) thought out and the plot was super cute and new. The characters had unique personalities that made them realistic in a way that had me fangirling like a nutcase. I definitely recommend this book to anybody who has a fandom they follow or are just a lover of romance with a bit of humor and music mixed in. I also cannot WAIT to read book two. The more SAS the merrier 🙂

American Girl on Saturn = 4.5 stars

I also want to wish everybody a happy St. Patrick’s day! Being Irish myself (with lack of red hair but certainly nailing the pasty look) I’m hoping to pinch a lot of non-green wearing people and use an accent all day. Though I’m not as hard core like this guy below…

Leave a Reply

