Brief Yet Bitchin’ Reviews ;)

Okay, as promised, I have some hard hitting reviews *wink* to share with you lovely people 🙂 These are just brief reviews that sum up my thoughts in a nice little package. Because seriously, who has time for essay long reviews? Not me, so let’s get this started!

The Transfer: A Divergent Story by Veronica Roth

The Transfer: A Divergent Story (Divergent, #0.1)

REVIEW

Veronica Roth (aka author of the Divergent series) has started to release short stories on Tobias Eaton. Otherwise known as Four. There will, of course, be four books in the series, and this is the first installment. This was about 34 pages long and it told about Four taking the placement test and his decision to be dauntless. I loved that I got to see what happened with him, even though it was pretty similar to Tris’s. Nevertheless I found it interesting and I liked that it started to open up the gates about our mystery man.

The Transfer: A Divergent Story = 4 dauntless stars

Bitter Sweet Love (The Dark Elements #0.5)  by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Bitter Sweet Love (The Dark Elements, #0.5)

REVIEW

So Jennifer spit out another series, this one about gargoyles and demons. There is one this lady does freakishly well: the chick is original with her stories. You know how HARD that is? Ugh, she’s disgustingly brilliant. What else is new? Anyways, this is a little novella to go along with the dark elements series. This mini book is labeled 0.5 before the other installments. You don’t necessarily have to read it, but the story is super cute with these secondary characters getting their own little novel. I loved Dez and Jasmine. He’s all confident and dark, and Jasmine is the kind of girl you’d be best friends with the first day of kindergarten. Loved them and the story they weaved. DON’T MISS OUT ON THIS BEAUIFUL STORY!

Bitter Sweet Love = 5 stars

White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)

REVIEW

This is the kind of story that draws you in, spits you out, and makes you want to cry when you’re done because the next book isn’t out yet. In other words, I loved it. This had drama, romance, sass, and a demon named Roth. Mmm makes me drool like someone’s waving a chocolate bar in my face. The only thing I didn’t dig was Layla’s adopted family. But that’s just me. Other than that, I loved this to pieces and I especially loved Roth. He’s just…Jesus help me. He got under my skin and then he made me want him to hop out of the pages and take me away. Bet you can’t guess how many stars I gave this one lol.

White Hot Kiss = 4.5 drool worthy stars

Resistance (The Variant Series #2)  by Jena Leigh

Resistance (The Variant Series, Book 2)

REVIEW

So I entered this giveaway awhile ago and totally forgot about it. That is until I got an email from my friend’s blog saying I won the ebook! Needless to say, it totally made my day. This is the second book in the Variant series and I freaking devoured this in no time. I loved Declan, as usual, and all the rest of our favorite Variants. but I have to say, I didn’t like it as much as the first book. I only say that because it seemed like the first one had more lighthearted moments that countered the darker ones. This book was intense 24/7 without much of an emotional break, and I’m one of those readers that needs one. Besides that, the story was detailed and had a lot of great scenes along with story development. All in all a great story.

Resistance = 3.75 stars

Wooo! So there we go. My little reading round up for the week. Now I mentioned in my last post that I went to see Divergent and LOVED IT. But I should probably be a bit more detailed instead of just saying I fell in love with it, right? LOL. Everybody I know had been telling me they were so worried about the age of the characters and whether the director would stay true to the book. I’ll put them both to rest: The characters couldn’t have been better, and they stayed incredibly close to the book. What they DID change actually made the story better! So do not fear fellow fans. If you see Divergent, I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

2 thoughts on “Brief Yet Bitchin’ Reviews ;)

  1. Inda, you certainly have a wonderful way of describing books in your reviews that makes them both lively, and entertaining:) I’ll definitely have to check them out, and congrats on winning the Resistance giveaway on the “Live a Thousand Lives” blog!

Leave a Reply

