Damian’s Assassin (War of Gods #2) by Lizzy Ford

Image

Synopsis:

With the White God in Europe, Dustin is left alone in Miami to protect the Grey God, a man-god struggling with his identity, and the White God’s mate. One of the Black God’s vamps in Miami suddenly goes rogue and starts killing humans by the dozen. Dustin initially doesn’t think much of the ruthless, human-hating thug, Talon, until it becomes clear that the vamp is receiving help from otherworldly beings whose intentions are nothing short of destroying humanity. To make matters even worse, Dustin’s begun to dream of his dead sister, who tells him he’ll be seeing her soon.

Dustin rescues Bianca and her troubled brother, a Natural whose mysterious talent makes him vital to Talon’s plans. Bianca, a woman as sunny and sweet as Dustin is hard and cold, has the rare Natural gift of healing. She can bring the recent dead back to life or turn a vamp back into a human. She can even reach Dustin’s heart, which he locked away long again after his sister’s death. Convinced he’ll be killed soon, Dustin won’t risk his heart or Bianca’s, despite their mutual attraction, and Bianca discovers even her incredible talent can’t save both the men she loves.“

REVIEW

As you can see, the book is basically told in the synopsis lol. It seems more and more books are being completely told in their descriptions. Authors, don’t give everything away for free! Ha ha that’s my Yoda advice for the day 😉

I read the first book in this series awhile ago, and fell in love with the world of the gods and their quirky relationships/personalities. This one focuses on Dusty, one of my favorite characters from the first book. He’s the main assassin for the White God, Damian, (Get it? Damian’s Assassin?) and he has been for hundreds of thousands of years. This of course has made him cold as stone and not all that touchy feely. And you know what I like? Dusty didn’t change in personality just because he met a woman. I LOVE that about this book. Too many novels have the male lead change in personality just because he met the girl of his dreams and crap. Not Dusty. If anything, he became more ruthless when it came to her. He’s a protector and won’t apologize for it. Sigh…Can I have him? I love that overly manly thing, it’s just…ugh, you girls get what I mean.

I think the heroine in this is awesome. She’s sweet, patient, and a very believable person/character. I also enjoyed how it wasn’t insta-love between her and Dusty. It took time and was very believable and cute to watch. In fact the way Bianca and Dusty met was super funny to me. It was original and funny and really showed both of their personalities right away.

Now I am going to shut up about the kickass characters for a second and focus on the story. Because I’ve noticed in my reviews lately that I only gab about the two main characters and don’t really expand on the story itself. So that is DEFINITELY going to change today. LOL I think I just heard ya’ll sigh in relief ;–)

WARNING! IF YOU HAVEN’T READ BOOK ONE STOP READING THIS!!! Are your eyes averted???? Good, let’s continue. In book one we found the long lost White God who is now the Grey God, and in this book we’re battling over who is going to be the new Black God. Dusty and his crew of Guardians are still killing vampires, but this time, Dusty’s mortality is at risk for the first time….ooh. Surprisingly, I enjoyed this book more than the first one, and I think that’s because I liked the characters more. But come on, who doesn’t love an immortal god who finds love? Well, this girl does!!! Hahaha, anyone agree with me? Then comment below chicas (and chicos if any guys read this ;–)!! 

Damian’s Assassin = 4 godly stars

BTW, I went to the movies the other day and they showed the trailer for The Fault in Our Stars. My sister and I fangirled like the crazy biotches we are and we will not apologize! And the movie poster is AWESOME SAUCE ON STEROIDS!!!!

fault in our stars

And…yep, my heart just stopped.

Leave a Reply

