City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6) by Cassandra Clare review

8755785

Synopsis:

“ΕRCHOMAI,” SEBASTIAN HAD SAID.

I am coming.

“Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance?”

REVIEW

I think something all teenagers have in common, no matter where in the world, is a “thing” that they grew up with. Whether it was a popular TV show, a Disney star, or a book series, we all have something in our teenage years that makes us remember that time. Like if you grew up with the Harry Potter series, reading every book the day it came out. Or even being at the theater opening night for every installment of the Twilight movies. All of us have something we obsessed over in those years. Me for example. I have lived my teenage years with The Mortal Instrument series and all of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter adventures. In a way it feels like with this last installment, I’m at the same point in my life as the characters. Though I’m eighteen and not sixteen, I still went through all of those awkward moments like Clary. I have a friend that’s close to me like Simon, I had that uncontrollable hair and short stature that EVERYBODY loves to make fun of. But reading this last book in my beloved series was like seeing everything finally come into focus, for me and the characters. And also a sad revelation.

 We all finally grew up.

Over the books Clary has grown into a woman and a shadowhunter all at the same time. Jace has lost his “To love is to destroy” attitude, and Alec came into his own. Even Izzy learns that sometimes in life you need to take a leap, even if jumping literally off a cliff seems less daunting lol. And Simon, the most human of them all even though he’s a vampire, found himself as the hero in an unlikely way, yet again. I find a commonality with every character in this book, and it truly hurts to say good bye to the people who have been, essentially, my fictitious friends. Sounds lame as hell to most, but if you’re a reader, I think you’ll understand the feeling. Among other things in this book, I loved how the story never got boring. I experienced that rush of excitement and also heartbreak with my favorite shadowhunters and felt like I was on the ride with them. The characters never disappointed me once and the final conclusion to one of the biggest series since Harry Potter didn’t upset me in the least. As always, Cassie gave us another satisfying end to another brilliant series. I know you’re probably wondering why this is a cry fest and not a real review, but I feel like if I say much, the story could easily be foiled for some. So for my viewers sakes, I’m not going to spill, I’m going to let you discover the secrets for yourselves ;—)

And for my last nauseating close to this review, I want to say thank you to Cassandra Clare. Not only for creating such fantastical worlds and for giving my mind a much needed reprieve from reality for a while, but also to thank her for the inspiration she has given me. I wouldn’t be an author had I not read City of Bones, and it’s all because of her. Like Tessa says, One must always be careful of books, and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us. And Ms. Clare’s words have definitely changed me.

Leave a Reply

