Review Marathon!

I’ve hit the mother load of books this week, well, not really in ratings, but finding them for FREE! I have to say, I hate overpaying for books just because I know what I’m really paying for is the cover designer, the editor, and a bunch of other people at some publishing house in New York instead of a high quality book. So this week I made it my mission to find some free ones to review for you guys. Shall we get started?

Rua (Rua, #1)

Synopsis:

A girl with an unknown destiny.

A boy from a hidden world.

When Celeste starts at a new school in a small, Kansas town, she hears whispering voices, has vivid nightmares, and swarms of blackbirds follow her every move. She is oddly drawn to aloof Rylan, the other new student who has his own secrets. The exact moment she turns seventeen, she wakes to a bedroom full of strange creatures, purple light emanating from her hands, and Rylan breaking in through her bedroom window. He knows what she is . . . Intriguing and deeply romantic, RUA is page-turning YA novel with a supernatural twist.

REVIEW

How can I put this. Since becoming a writer, when I read other authors’ works, I automatically see things in their writing that could be improved or what I would have done differently. This is kind of a good and bad quality. But after reading Rua, I just kind of felt a disconnect in the story. I wish we could have had a little bit longer in the book for explanation, especially since this was a paranormal. Maybe had it been fifty pages longer, I would have given this a better review. This book kind of featured insta love, so for those that aren’t fans, I don’t recommend this. But with saying that, I thought Rua was a good read and had an interesting paranormal twist going for it. I liked how our heroine was a genuine person and I loved her parents. Overall I give this first installment 3 stars.

Phenomenal X (Hard Knocks, #1)

Synopsis:

Good Girl. Notorious Bad-Boy. One Phenomenal Love.

From the mean streets of Detroit rises the newest superstar of professional wrestling, Xavier Cold, better known as Phenomenal X. His muscular physique makes men cower before him and women lose their minds with desire.

Anna Cortez is fresh out of college and naive to the harsh realities of the real world. Tired of living under the thumb of her conservative family, she defies them when she accepts a job as the assistant to wrestling’s most notorious bad-boy. Phenomenal X has an animalistic nature that even good girl Anna finds hard to resist.

One night forced to share a bed in a sold-out hotel, lines blur between them and they quickly learn that one lustful night changes everything and neither one of them will ever be the same.

REVIEW

I know this is a total 360 degree flip from the book above, but I wanted a new genre to cleanse my reader’s palette, if you will, because I read mostly paranormal stories this week. This story revolves around Anna and Xavier. One is a world class wrestler, the other is a girl trying to escape the harshness of an overly religious father. When I read the synopsis for this I was really intrigued. But then I started reading and I was slightly disappointed. I only say that because I was thinking this would have more wrestling in it or have a bit better connection between the characters. If I’m being totally honest, it seemed like the only thing these two had in common from the start was physical attraction. To me, it never really went beyond that and it kind of frustrated me. I did like Anna, but her cousin was the best character for me personally. She was funny, care free, and straight forward. I kind of wish the story had been between her and Xavier instead of Anna, just because I think their personalities would have transcended better on paper than Anna’s had. But I thought it was a good book, though I don’t think I’ll be reading the second in the two part series. I give Phenomenal X 3 stars.

Runes (Runes, #1)

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with her father’s disappearance, her mother’s erratic behavior and the possibility of her boyfriend relocating. The last thing she needs is Torin St. James—a mysterious new neighbor with a wicked smile and uncanny way of reading her.

Raine is drawn to Torin’s dark sexiness against her better judgment, until he saves her life with weird marks and she realizes he is different. But by healing her, Torin changes something inside Raine. Now she can’t stop thinking about him. Half the time, she’s not sure whether to fall into his arms or run.

Scared, she sets out to find out what Torin is. But the closer she gets to the truth the more she uncovers something sinister about Torin. What Torin is goes back to an ancient mythology and Raine is somehow part of it. Not only are she and her friends in danger, she must choose a side, but the wrong choice will cost Raine her life.

REVIEW

I’ve been wanting to read this book for over a year, but never really got around to buying it. Then I randomly check amazon and guess what? IT’S NOW FREE! So you bet I ordered that ebook quicker than you can say paranormal awesomeness. When I started reading this I couldn’t put it down. Mostly because I’ve been wanting it forever. The story is about Raine who has recently lost her father in a weird plane accident and nobody can find him. Then enters her new, smoking hot neighbor Torin. Instantly she finds him intriguing, mysterious, and puzzling. A girl’s dream. He can do things nobody should be able to do and she seems to be the only who can see it. As the book goes on she slowly starts to put the pieces together about what, and who, he is. And this was what pissed me off ladies and gentleman. We don’t find out what in the world he is until the last 8% of the book. Frustrating isn’t a good enough word. And then we have killings, mysterious new students only Raine can see and…Ugh. I was going to give this a 3 star rating because I thought the Norse mythology it centers around was interesting, but then I read the last three pages and, nope. This book now earns a 2.5 star rating because I hate, and I repeat HATE this particular story ending. I know it’s a style of cliffhanger, but it makes me wonder what the freaking book was even for if THAT’S how you’re going to end it. So, this earns a 2.5 star just based on my personal hate for this type of ending. Read at your own risk.

 

Leave a Reply

