Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover review

17788403

Synopsis:

At twenty-two years old, aspiring musician Sydney Blake has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her good friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter cheating on her with Tori—and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by her mysterious neighbor, Ridge Lawson. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the daily guitar playing he does out on his balcony. She can feel the harmony and vibrations in his music. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either: He seems to have finally found his muse. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance—and the enchanting music that inspires one young woman to put her life back together.

REVIEW

So my experience with this book comes with a bit of a back story. I’ve been doing some research for a project I’m going to start soon *says conspiratorially* and I came across this book. Immediately the blurb made me interested and I ended up picking this book to start said research. What I wasn’t expecting was to read a 367 page book in an afternoon. AN AFTERNOON PEOPLE. It was one of those books where you have to read it in one sitting or you’ll lose that energy the book gives you. Or maybe that’s just an Inda quirk. I don’t know. But for me, that was how I felt.

I’ll be honest with you guys. I had a hate/love thing going on with this story and its characters. First of all, I love the originality this book brought. Yes, it was a love triangle, (which I normally hate, and this book wasn’t necessarily an exception). And yes, the guy had to decide between the two girls. But you know what? This was unlike any love triangle I have ever read. Because you really didn’t know who was going to win out in the end. It was a neck and neck thing. But I actually liked that fact. Usually the guy is like, “I love you more, and that’s why I have to break it off with her. Because I don’t feel for her the way I feel for you.” That so did not happen here. The main male character loved both girls equally, not a 70/30 kind of love, but a 50/50, split both ways. This made for an interesting yet frustrating book. So that’s why I love-hate it. My emotions were going up and down so much I thought I was on a ride at Disney.

What I loved about this story is that the relationship between Sydney and Ridge wasn’t JUST physical like most stories. They had a deep connection that made the whole thing so sweet and realistic. They fell for each other through creating music and I loved that. Overall, the characters – all of them – had some type of growth within themselves and I really appreciated that inclusion. You didn’t just see the main characters grow, you saw their friends and everybody else in the story develop right along with them. It was a solid book in every way, and I literally couldn’t put it down. It was a frustrating read, but in the end I seriously enjoyed it.

P.S.

I found this song that totally encompasses the whole theme of the book. It’s called “With Me” by Sum 41. I’ll put a link to it below.

MAYBE SOMEDAY = 4 STARS

Leave a Reply

