From the Wreckage by Michele G. Miller Review

20910533

Synopsis:

“In a matter of minutes on a Friday night, I lost my school, my identity, the security of my first love, the personality of my sweet fearless brother, my best friend, my town, everything as I knew it. Everything changed.”

“Minutes – that’s all it takes to change your entire life. How do you deal with that?”

For high school senior Jules Blacklin surviving the storm is only the beginning. Faced with the new reality of her life, she must find a way to rise From The Wreckage and answer the question – how do you get back to normal, when everything that was normal is gone?

REVIEW

“One of these days, Jules Blacklin, I’m going to kiss you again, but it’s going to be when you’re mine.” He moves this thumb from her jaw to swipe across her bottom lip and locks his gaze with hers as he adds, “Because when I start kissing these lips, I don’t want to know he gets to kiss them after me.”

That was the quote that made me put this book on my TBR list. And then two minutes after adding it, I found the book, downloaded the book, and then proceed to read 80% of it in one sitting. And since I only finished it moments ago, my emotions are still fresh, so bear with me 😉

Jules is your typical cheerleader with the idyllic life. But something has been missing lately for her. The spark isn’t there with her boyfriend anymore, her friends are always vying for attention, which annoys her, and it seems like things are just…different. But that all changes when she encounters West Rutledge sitting on top of one of the Ice Shack picnic tables. This is where their story begins. And what a story it was.

For me, the awesomeness of this book started when West (our sweet, kind, sexy, loner-ish hero) grabbed her hand. So simple yet so powerful, the reassuring touch of a hand had so much significance in this story. Probably because a huge part of this book was about the simplicity and innocence of young love. To me, West’s and Jules’ love story was so pure and good that you just wanted to immerse yourself within the feelings these two shared with each other. It was a soul connection that was deep and so sweet it had you flipping the pages at warp speed. Ah, just thinking about it makes me smile. I love that kind of crap in books. Where it gives you hope that not all men are jerks and some are actually romantic and kind, and… okay, I’m getting off course. Sorry 😉

In other words, they had a quick love but it wasn’t sickening insta-love stuff. It had a slow burning effect that all started with innocent words, small touches, and looks that spoke so much. Sharing a life changing experience with someone is a feeling only few know. But this author created such a unique and realistic world/scenario that you felt like you were reading a story that has ACTUALLY happened, and this is simply a retelling of it. It was brilliant, to say the least. The writing was just perfect.

In a nut shell, what I loved about this book was the heart melting romance, the story about how life changes and how you have to change with it, the friendships, the pain, and the rebuilding of the characters. Beautifully told and so unique, I simply loved it.

5 Stars

Leave a Reply

