How to Seduce a Band Geek (How To, #2) by Cassie Mae review

18711450

Synopsis:

Sierra Livingston’s got it bad for her sister’s best friend, Levi Mason—the boy who carries his drumsticks in his pocket, marches with the school’s band, and taps his feet to whatever beat runs through his head. Sierra racks her brain for ways to impress the sexy drummer, but the short skirts and bursting cleavage don’t seem to cut it.

When Sierra gets paired with Levi’s sister, Brea, for a mentorship program, they strike a deal. In exchange for Sierra keeping her mouth shut about Brea ditching the program, Brea lets Sierra dig for more info on Levi to help get the guy of her dreams.

But when Sierra discovers Levi no longer plays the drums, his family has moved into a trailer, and he’s traded in his Range Rover for a baby blue moped, Sierra’s not sure if she can go through with violating his privacy. She’ll have to find the courage to ask him straight out—if he’s willing to let her in—and explore other ways to seduce the school’s band geek.

REVIEW

Holy crap. How do I start this review? I just got done reading this one and I’m trying to figure out where to start. Hmm, how about the beginning? LOL

I won this book a long time ago in a giveaway and only just got to it now. My friend (the one and only Krystle from http://kookiekrysp.com/ ) told me that it was a cute/sweet read and that she thought it was right up my alley. And of course she was right. It turns out this book was everything she bragged about. I loved it. Simple as that.

I’ve read other works from Cassie Mae, but this one is certainly my favorite by far. And I’ll tell you why.

I love a story where the two MCs are flawed in some way, or nerdy, which was the case with this book. It’s far more realistic with how kids really are, and I loved that the author stuck true with this theme throughout the story. None of the characters were described as super models (Well, aside from Sierra’s overdramatized description of Levi. But come on, the girl was high from crushing on him. Girls can make any guy sound like a rock star when they’re blinded by love). Anyway, it was a very refreshing change for once. Also, the relationships in this story were realistic, true, and funny at times. Life is messy and this book totally showed that. But it never got too ridiculous or over the top with angst to where I found it annoying.

Lets talk about the stars of this love story: Levi and Sierra. OMG Sierra was hysterical, and lets be honest, a bit more than juvenile at times. But hey, she’s only sixteen and she has a massive crush on her sister’s best friend. I gave her some leeway for acting a tad more than ridiculous at times. But what I really loved here was how they balanced each other out. Levi was a bit older and had a lot of responsibilities, which really translates to he was more mature than Sierra. When he got too intense with life’s frustrating situations, Sierra was there to bring a bit of lightness back to the scene. And the same goes for Sierra. I felt like exploring her feelings for Levi gave her a better perspective and made her a bit more serious at times. They had a nice yin and yang thing going on that I really enjoyed.

The romance was slow built and very natural. I also liked how we got a glimpse into her sister’s and friend’s lives. Adam was a complete sweetheart and her sister Zoe was a great character as well. Overall the story was fun, and I read this book in one day. I just couldn’t put it down. And when I can’t put a book down, that means only one thing: I loved it.

P.S.

You don’t have to read the first book in the series to read this one. I read it as a standalone myself.

How to Seduce a Band Geek by Cassie Mae: 5 stars

3 thoughts on “How to Seduce a Band Geek (How To, #2) by Cassie Mae review

Leave a Reply

