REVIEW : Capture (Seaside Pictures, #1) by Rachel Van Dyken

25612216

Synopsis:

Losing your ability to speak at the age of seventeen; it’s not normal or fair.
But trauma, has a way of throwing normality out the window.

Dani lives anything but a normal life.
Her sister is married to one of the biggest names in Hollywood.
Her best friends are rockstar duo AD2.
And she has more love around her than most people experience in a lifetime.
But that doesn’t change the fact their parents are dead.
Or that it’s her fault.

It seems her new normal is being a mute, living on the inside, unable to actually communicate on the outside.
That is until Hollywood’s newest heartthrob Lincoln Greene hires her as his assistant for the summer.
He’s gorgeous, completely unavailable, and unobtainable.
But that doesn’t stop her from wondering…if things were different…would he want her?
If she was whole, would he be the other half?

REVIEW

This was so cute! And I can’t believe that I haven’t read something from this author before now. But I’m so glad I discovered “Capture” because now I have a new series to be hooked to!

Let me tell you now why I’m going to be obsessed with this new series.

Dani is mute by choice, having gone through a tragedy few have survived — the simple act of speaking feels like it could break her. Her sister, brother-in-law, and two best friends ( all of which are in the entertainment industry ) are concerned with her unwillingness to get out there and experience life again. So devising a plan, they arrange for Dani to become the new assistant for Lincoln Greene, one of the hottest young actors in Hollywood. The issue? Dani isn’t so on board with this scheme of theirs.

I really love stories like these where the family and friends are so involved in the story. Dani couldn’t have a better support system, and I loved most watching their sweet and at times, hilarious, interactions with each other. I also loved the dual POVs, because you really got to experience what they both were going through at different times, giving the story better depth.

Linc was an adorable character to me. He was sweet, funny, awkward with Dani at times ( which was so freaking cute! ), and really had a great heart. I loved how he and Dani slowly became friends and shared their pasts, connecting them further. Dani herself was a good character, too. I admired how she didn’t fawn all over Lincoln simply because he was a movie star. In fact it was quite the opposite lol. But despite their rough beginnings with each other, these two had a great chemistry I very much enjoyed reading. Something I didn’t know (but kind of suspected) until after I read this was that there was a whole other series before this one ( called the Seaside series ), and this was sort of the beginnings of a spin off to it. Needless to say you don’t necessarily have to read the other one first, but it would definitely set things up better in the story if you did.

I really did love this book. I have a soft spot in my heart for Hollywood romances, and this book hit the mark perfectly for me.

Capture by Rachel Van Dyken = 5 Seaside Stars

P.S.

I can’t wait to read Zane’s story!

AUTHOR INFO

Rachel Van Dyken

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances.

Website: http://rachelvandykenauthor.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rachel-…

Leave a Reply

