REVIEW : Tear (Seaside, #1) by Rachel Van Dyken

16161331

Synopsis:

Life as a teenager is never easy. But for Natalee Murray, things have just gotten way more difficult. Bored with life, she can’t wait to graduate high school and get out of town, especially considering the famous band members from AD2 suddenly start attending her school, making her once boring life, absolutely insane.

It starts with a pen. A single brush of fingers, and she is captivated.

But Alec and Demetri have a dark secret, one that could shatter their reputations and Natalee’s heart. What do you do when one guy paints your life with color while the other infuses your soul with passion? How do you choose when your heart is divided?

*This is a New Adult/Mature YA. Minor swearing and drug usage.

REVIEW

Let me start out by saying that I am not usually one to indulge myself in reading a love triangle. I hate the strife it causes in a book so I normally avoid them. But since I had fallen so hard for “Capture”, the spinoff to the Seaside series, I decided to give this one a chance. I wasn’t wrong, I wasn’t a fan of this particular triangle, but I did love the outcome for the story, and that’s how I rate my reviews. I love a good ending. I mean, who doesn’t?

Nat is stuck in a rut. Life has gotten boring as of late, and she can’t wait to escape the sleepy little town of Seaside, Oregon. That is until the new guys arrive, the famous Canadian brother duo, AD2. Life gets interesting real fast for Natalee when not only one of the brothers, but BOTH of them stake her out as someone who stands apart from the rest. She can’t go anywhere without one or both of the brothers there, waiting to charm their way into her once boring existence. (Nothing like being caught between two brothers, huh Elena Gilbert? Haha)

I actually liked this story quite a bit. I thought Demetri was hysterical and Alec was that perfect blend of moody and sweet. Normally I’d have to read two completely different stories to experience these two personalities, but in this book I got to hit two birds with one stone. Both boys are total opposites of one another, but that’s what made this story interesting. Who do you choose? The fun one who can charm his way into your heart just by breathing? Or the guy who is always there for you, his protectiveness and heart stopping glances your way threatening to stop your breathing completely? I guess you’ll just have to read it to find out for yourself 😉

Overall this book was a really good example of the heartache the young adults of today experience mixed with the sometimes devastating lives of the rich and famous. Yes, they too have problems just like the rest of us. Sometimes even worse than you could ever imagine. But what made this story stand out from the rest in the band romance genre is the way these characters dealt with their problems. It was a slow healing process, but it was realistic in that respect. I very much enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

TEAR by Rachel Van Dyken = 4 stars

AUTHOR INFO

Rachel Van Dyken

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances.
WEBSITE = http://rachelvandykenauthor.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rachel-…

Leave a Reply

