REVIEW : Ruin (Ruin, #1) by Rachel Van Dyken

Ruin (Ruin, #1)

Synopsis:

I’m not your typical girl. I’ve been running away from the memories that haunt me for so long that depression has become my only comfort. I was content in the darkness…until Wes Michals offered to be my light.

I didn’t know that time wasn’t my ally — that every second that ticked past was one step closer to the end of something that was beginning to mean the end of myself. He tried to warn me. He promised me all he was able to offer–each moment as it came–but it would never be enough.

Sometimes when you think it’s the end, it’s only the beginning. Wes thought he could save me, but in giving me everything, he ruined me. Because after one kiss, one touch, I couldn’t–I wouldn’t ever be the same.

And from that moment on, his heartbeat became my own.

REVIEW

THIS. WAS. AMAZING.

Holy crow, this was so freaking good y’all. Though I don’t know why I’m so surprised since I’ve loved so many of the books written by this author. The characters, the story, the struggle with them all…wow. So good!

 Poor Kiersten was not dealt the best hand in life, and neither was Wes Michals – despite how it looks on the outside. Struggling with something so heartbreaking and earthshattering on your own is a disease within itself. But sharing it with others isn’t an option at this point for Wes.

Kiersten suffered the unthinkable, leaving her withdrawn and closed off to the world around her as a result. When she literally runs into Wes Michels, everything changes. They both recognize a similar quality in each other, a certain brokenness. And doesn’t misery just love company?

As depressing as I’ve made it sound, this book had a lot of funny, cute, and heart lifting moments in it along with a ton of great advice on how to live life to its fullest potential. I completely fell in love with Kiersten and Wes and their shared story; my heartbreaking at all the right and wrong moments. Guys, I freaking bawled like ten times while reading this lol, but trust me, it was warranted. I got so attached to these characters and this story that I couldn’t help myself. I also couldn’t put it down, which is how I read it within the span of a single day. That’s how good this was.

Normally I hate sad books, but this one wasn’t sad to me. It was uplifting and inspirational with an outcome I wasn’t expecting. Something else I loved was the religious aspect. Going through what Wes was going through is not an easy thing, and having faith through it would be an even bigger struggle. How he dealt with it was real, honest, and how any of us would react given that hand. I give the author big credit for writing about it with such accuracy.

If there was anything I was going to criticize about this book, it would be the whole instance with Lorelei. I honestly didn’t get why it was in the book. It lasted for about two chapters and then it was completely over with and not talked about again. Also? Had I been Kiersten and I heard the rumor about what Wes may or may not have done, I certainly would not have trusted him so completely and so quickly. That was about the only unrealistic thing I found in this story. But despite that, I really, really, REALLY enjoyed this book and I can’t wait to get my hands on Gabe’s story next!

Ruin by Rachel Van Dyken = 5 stars

Leave a Reply

