REVIEW: VAMPIRE GIRL BY KARPOV KINRADE

29769675

Synopsis:

You think it’s safe to walk alone at night. It’s not.

You think the only threat is other humans. It’s not.

Monsters are real. Demons are real. Vampires are real.

And I’m about to become one of them.

My name is Arianna Spero. I was an ordinary girl, living an ordinary life, until my mother lapsed into a coma. Now, I am her only hope. She made a deal with the devil, and on my 18th birthday he came to collect. But there’s a way to save her. There’s something the princes of hell want more than my mother.

Me.

So I signed my soul away and promised to pick a prince to marry. I would take the blood oath, become one of them, and give them an heir. I would become a princess of hell, and my mother would live.

I expected fire and brimstone. I expected pain and misery. I didn’t expect beauty. I didn’t expect magic.

I didn’t expect love.

But the princes are keeping secrets from me.

Secrets that could shatter everything.

REVIEW

Well, it had vampire in the title. The cover looked cool. And I love me some weird plots. Check, check, and…check! So naturally I had pretty high hopes for this book. It’s been a while since I read a vamp themed YA and I was curious how the author was going to fit both blood suckers and demons into one plot line. Turns out it wasn’t how I thought it would be. At all. But instead of telling you and spilling the beans, I’ll show you how I felt about it.

Any hoo…never mind that. Back to the review.

I liked the idea for the story, the originality of it and some of the plot twists, but still, I found a lot to be desired. A lot goes on in this read, both romantically, politically, and, well, everything else. And that was my biggest problem with it. There was TOO much going on and it felt like I was being pulled in a hundred different directions. Which do I focus on first? I had no clue, which had me lagging to finish this until today.

I’ll admit that I liked Fen (our main man) and the clean writing style, but I wasn’t sold on Ari, and some of the things that happened never got explained like they should have in the first book of a series. A lot was left a mystery, which can be a good or a bad thing depending on the story. I just would have liked a bit more explanation on some of the things this book centered on.

Overall it was a solid read, but I was left kind of disappointed in the end because I was looking for something a bit more exciting. Though I’ll tell you this, I wasn’t expecting how the book ended :0

VAMPIRE GIRL BY KARPOV KINRADE = 3 STARS

 

Leave a Reply

