REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

5

Synopsis:

Harry Potter’s third year at Hogwarts is full of new dangers. A convicted murderer, Sirius Black, has broken out of Azkaban prison, and it seems he’s after Harry. Now Hogwarts is being patrolled by the dementors, the Azkaban guards who are hunting Sirius. But Harry can’t imagine that Sirius or, for that matter, the evil Lord Voldemort could be more frightening than the dementors themselves, who have the terrible power to fill anyone they come across with aching loneliness and despair. Meanwhile, life continues as usual at Hogwarts. A top-of-the-line broom takes Harry’s success at Quidditch, the sport of the Wizarding world, to new heights. A cute fourth-year student catches his eye. And he becomes close with the new Defense of the Dark Arts teacher, who was a childhood friend of his father. Yet despite the relative safety of life at Hogwarts and the best efforts of the dementors, the threat of Sirius Black grows ever closer. But if Harry has learned anything from his education in wizardry, it is that things are often not what they seem. Tragic revelations, heartwarming surprises, and high-stakes magical adventures await the boy wizard in this funny and poignant third installment of the beloved series.

MINI REVIEW

As stated before, I’m only going to do small reviews for the Potter series since there are so many books, and only so many ways to explain why I liked them. And with that out of the way, let’s begin!

Every time I open to the front page of these books, I’m astounded at just how eager I am to read them, though I already saw the movies and know what happens. But with “The Prisoner of Azkaban”, there were twists and turns and little details of the story I hadn’t been aware of before, due to their lack of screen time in the movies. And because of this, I would say that book number three so far has been my favorite.

The only thing I couldn’t stand? This man.

Image result for snape gifs

I thought Snape was a dick in the other books (forgive my language), but he brought it to a whole other level in this installment. So much so that I can’t see much redemption for him. Bullying is one of the worst things you can do to a person, but being an ADULT and terrorizing CHILDREN is unacceptable. No way in today’s world would this kind of behavior from a teacher be tolerated. It was terrible, and my heart went out to Neville, Harry, Hermione, and Ron when they were yelled at or given unfair punishment from this jerk. And because of that, I’m knocking a star off the rating. Sorry, but it upset me that much.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling = 4 stars

 

 

Advertisements

One Lovely Blog Award

one lovely blog award

So, I was nominated by my sister from the same mister (Julia of The Romance Bibliophile blog) for this very nice award, and I decided I would share it all with you! Thanks, sis!

Here are the rules should you choose to accept the award… (P.S. I shamelessly stole this format from my sister. Sorry, Julia!)

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog (pingback to this post!)
  • Add the One Lovely Blog Award to your post
  • Share seven things about yourself
  • Pass this on to as many people as you like (max. 15)
  • Include this set of rules
  • Inform your nominees

Okay, so I’ll get to the seven things about me. This should be interesting lol.

1. My real name is Melinda. ‘Inda’ is the nickname I chose instead of ‘Mel’, ‘Mindy,’ or ‘M’.

2. Along with writing, reading, and art, I absolutely adore animals. I always have, and always seem to get along with them better than people, because, hello, if you haven’t figured it out yet, your girl is introverted. Hence my career choice of sitting behind a computer all day in a quiet room. 😉

3. This August was my four year anniversary of being a writer.

4. I wrote and published my first book when I was seventeen, and have written eight books since then and published three.

5. I have the greatest sister in the world, and if you plan to disagree, I will fight you and you will lose. I am convinced we are twins just born seventeen months apart, and she along with my parents are my biggest supporters. She’s also my editor, beta reader, and the one I go to to ping my ideas off of.

6. In my spare time, meaning twelve to two a.m. in the morning, I’m a graphic designer and have an art shop on Redbubble.com. I have designed every cover for every one of my books, and it’s something I’d love to go to school for one day.

7. I always put a character that loves to read into every one of my books, and also use names with secret and or personal meanings behind them. Just Google one to see 🙂

Alright, so this is where I’m slightly breaking the rules. I don’t have a very big list of blogs to nominate since I’m terrible with following many. And the ones I do follow I’m not really sure how to contact since they’re bigger blogs and probably get hundreds of comments a day. But if I did, it would be Kookie Krysp (who is currently taking a break from her YA blog right now) and The Clockwork Reader, whom you can find on Tumblr and Youtube.

I want to thank my sister again for nominating me for this fun award, and I challenge you to do the same with a blog you know!

Happy Mother’s Day Weekend!

west

Happy Mother’s Day Weekend everyone! I just wanted to give a shout out to all of the moms out there that inspire us every day and encourage us to do our best and chase our dreams. I know that I wouldn’t be where I’m at in life if I didn’t have my amazing mother as a part of my support system. She quit her job to be a full time mom to me and my sister, and homeschooled us from day one to when we walked across the stage in our cap and gowns on graduation. She is my rock, my inspiration, and the ideal kind of woman of faith and family I pray to be one day. Don’t take just one day a year to tell your mom how much she means to you. She’s your superhero all 365 days a year.

Current Re-read: Enclave (Razorland, #1) by Ann Aguirre

Having decided to take a little break from reading Lady Midnight (Gasp! I know! But dang that thing is LONG) I was looking over a certain bookshelf when I remembered reading this book five years ago when it first came out. I can’t even remember the last time I read a dystopian, so I thought I would give this one another read. Since I never did a review for it back then, I thought I would write one this time when I finish re-reading it. I would love to hear your thoughts on this book/series if you have read it in the past, or just now discovered it here on my blog!

As always, happy reading my fellow bookies ❤

Synopsis:

New York City has been decimated by war and plague, and most of civilization has migrated to underground enclaves, where life expectancy is no more than the early 20’s. When Deuce turns 15, she takes on her role as a Huntress, and is paired with Fade, a teenage Hunter who lived Topside as a young boy. When she and Fade discover that the neighboring enclave has been decimated by the tunnel monsters–or Freaks–who seem to be growing more organized, the elders refuse to listen to warnings. And when Deuce and Fade are exiled from the enclave, the girl born in darkness must survive in daylight–guided by Fade’s long-ago memories–in the ruins of a city whose population has dwindled to a few dangerous gangs.

Ann Aguirre’s thrilling young adult novel is the story of two young people in an apocalyptic world–facing dangers, and feelings, unlike any they’ve ever known.

REVIEW: A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES

16096824

Synopsis:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down

REVIEW

So I finally, FINALLY finished this thing. I got some time yesterday to sit down and devour the last 30%, and I’m so glad I did. Because for one, this was a beautiful read from a writer’s point of view. The details Sarah creates with her words is truly amazing, making the world building in this exquisite. I felt like I was there, living in a faerie court alongside Feyre. For me that made this a class-A read in itself.

From a creative POV, I was really impressed with the originality of the story. It’s not easy to weave a tale about the Fey that readers haven’t already seen before. I thought the author did a fantastic job keeping you guessing about where the journey was going to take us.

On a less amazing note, I did feel like in the middle of the story things got a little slow, and I kind of lost interest for a few chapters. Also, Feyre made some pretty stupid decisions, and ignored quite a few peoples’ advice, putting her in situations I felt she was smart enough to stay out of in the first place. Of course I know that the author has to add some conflict to make things interesting and make the story move along, but I felt like some of the things Feyre got herself into were kind of stupid, and she could act rather childish at times.

To sum it all up, I was happy with the story and its outcome. I think the sequel will be interesting to read, if only to see how life after the big ending comes about. Fans of faeries and tales of the mischievous Fey are sure to be pleased if they pick up this read.

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J. MAAS = 4 STARS

AUTHOR INFO

Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

WEBSITE: http://sarahjmaas.com/

TWITTER: @SJMaas