REVIEW: Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer

26860475

Synopsis:

For the first time in a stand-alone paperback comes Stephenie Meyer’s Life and Death, a compelling reimagining of the iconic love story that will surprise and enthrall readers.
There are two sides to every story….
You know Bella and Edward, now get to know Beau and Edythe.

When Beaufort Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edythe Cullen, his life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With her porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edythe is both irresistible and enigmatic.

What Beau doesn’t realize is the closer he gets to her, the more he is putting himself and those around him at risk. And, it might be too late to turn back….

With a foreword and afterword by Stephenie Meyer, this compelling reimagining of the iconic love story is a must-read for Twilight fans everywhere.

REVIEW

First off, I want to start by saying the NOSTALGIA WAS SO INTENSE YOU GUYS. And if you’re wondering why, it’s because Twilight was my first ever paranormal read when I was a kid (and also contraband since my mom didn’t approve of bloodsuckers lol). Like every other fourteen-year-old, Twilight was my fav read for quite awhile until I started to explore other series in the paranormal genre. But still, it holds a great place in my reading heart today, which is why reading this reimagined story was like revisiting a part of my childhood.

So…I had not idea what I was getting into when I bought this, not really. I knew the sex of the characters were switched, but I didn’t know just how much of the story Ms. Meyer would change to fit the new theme. And to a degree, all was relatively the same. Except one part, one VERY BIG PART, which I’ll get to in a minute.

I thought it was interesting, getting the same story but from a male perspective. Honestly, when I heard about this anniversary edition, I was really hoping we would get Twilight told from Edward’s POV. I think that would have been super interesting to read. But alas, it was taken in a different direction, and according to Meyer, it was because she wanted to shut down the haters that were saying that since Bella was a girl, her overwhelming feelings for Edward were because of just that, her sex. This new retelling was supposed to disprove that theory. And I agree, it would have been the same whether Bella was male or female. But one thing bothered me about this, and that was the hero worship Beau had for Edythe. I remember that Bella was incredibly in love with Edward, maybe a little too much. But I NEVER remember this kind of, he-can-do-no-wrong, crap. It was kind of annoying, if I’m being honest, for him to flaunt over her looks on every page. Especially when she would get mad at him for no reason, and he would just freaking apologize. A relationship should be about equality, mutual respect. This was idol worship, and it left me feeling kind of awkward, which I’m sad to say.

Now, on to what I really want to talk about.

SPOILER ALERT Y’ALL

GAHHHHHHHH THAT ENDING! Dude, I was thrown for a serious loop, thinking it was going to be the same as the original, because everything else had been up to this point, so why would that change? But oh, HELL, no. Instead we got to see what would have happened had Edward let the venom spread through Bella in the dance studio, turning her into a vampire, and essentially eliminating the need for the next three books in the series, and honestly, I was shook. I loved that I got to see how it could have ended had Twilight been a standalone, because really, that one moment of hesitation could have taken their lives in a completely different direction. No Jacob love triangle, no Renesme, no Voluri nonsense, NOTHING. It was bizarre, satisfying, but also sad to experience this alternative ending. In this version, Charlie and Renee think Beau died in a car accident, the werewolves still hate the vampires, and that’s how it ends. Just…done. Over. He’s gone, the Cullens move to another town a year later, and blah blah blah.

I’m not surprised to say that I liked the original better. Your first love is your first love, book or person, and I don’t think any version of retelling could have changed that for me. But I did enjoy this book and the nostalgia it brought back, the memories attached to it.

Life and Death by Stephenie Meyer = 3.5 stars

Currently Reading : Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

If you follow me on Instagram (@authorindaherwood) then you know I’ve been listening to the audiobook of “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”, which is my first audiobook read EVER. I never thought I’d have the patience to listen to someone else read slow (LOL), but this has been a lot of fun. And weirdly enough, out of all the Potter books, I’ve only ever read the last one, and that’s because I was impatient for the final movie to come out haha. So far I’m really impressed with how closely the movie followed the book, which is definitely not something I say often.

Review to come!

3

Synopsis:

Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Though Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.

Full of sympathetic characters, wildly imaginative situations, and countless exciting details, the first installment in the series assembles an unforgettable magical world and sets the stage for many high-stakes adventures to come.

Currently Reading: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

8490112

As the title suggests, I’m currently reading the first book in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor. I’m on chapter 26 and I won’t lie, I’m having a hard time getting into it. And I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been busy with everything else in my life, or if it’s because I have this terrible curse of not liking what the rest of the world seems to adore, but I’m hoping to focus on it this week and get it finished. Is anyone else like that, though? Have a running problem with not liking books that are super popular? If so, tell me which book/series had you casted out by the rest of the bookish community. Maybe we can form a support group lol 😉

 

Currently Reading: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Related image

Yo, first off, the hardcover copy of this book is SICK. The outer side of the pages are black. BLACK! It’s almost too beautiful for my emo soul to handle. Seriously, I want to hang it up in a shadow box on my wall, it’s so dang gorgeous. Anyway, enough with my weird affair with the cover lol. I’m only 43 pages in, but already I can tell this is going to be an interesting read. Which brings me to ask: have any of you read this before? I’m going to imagine a few of you have, seeing as how this thing has a billion reviews on Goodreads, haha. Post in comments how you liked it!

Check it Out!

Jules Gray

So recently my girl over at The Perks of Being a Bibliophile just got an Instagram page, and since she’s awesome, I wanted to share the good fortune with you all 😉 If you love her reviews and book promotions, go follow her at @bibliophileperks, and if you haven’t heard of her, RUN TO HER BLOG RIGHT NOW AND HIT THE SUBSCRIBE BUTTON. She’s passionate about the books she reads and you can see that in every review she posts. Also, find her on Twitter at @JulesGrayBooks for updates on book giveaways, currently reading lists, and so much more!

Current Read: A Court of Thorns and Roses

It has been a really long time since I’ve read a faerie themed book. That’s not because I don’t like them, it’s just that it’s been a long time since I’ve read a good one that I kind of put it off and out of my mind. That is until a certain BFF bookie (Jules Gray from https://perksofbeingabibliophile.wordpress.com/ GO CHECK HER OUT SHE IS AWESOME AND SO ARE HER REVIEWS!) told me about this one. So I’m giving it a shot. I’m at 70% and I have been for about four days now lol. I’ve been side tracked with some stuff so reading has kind of been put on the backburner, unfortunately. Have any of you read this? I know it’s a rather popular book, so I’m going to assume some of you have 😉 Feel free to leave a comment telling me what you thought about it! I’d love to hear some feedback.

16096824

Synopsis:

 A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!