June Book Haul!

13138635849011226860475

As you can see, I went out of character and bought three paperbacks on kind of a whim. I mean, when the kindle copy is $10.99 and the paperback is $7, you kind of let logic guide your mouse, lol. These three have been on my to-read list for what feels like millennia, so the fact that they should be arriving in a few days has me feeling like:

Image result for excited gifs

And with new books to read, that means I’ll finally be able to post some reviews again. And that makes me want to get down like my friend Napoleon here.

Image result for excited gifs

Comment below if any of these titles are on your to-read list, or if you’ve already had a crack at one or all three. I’d love to know what you thought of it/them!

Advertisements

CURRENT READ: LADY MIDNIGHT BY CASSANDRA CLARE

So my current read at the moment is the first installment in the Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare, and it seems like I’ve been waiting for this book’s release a life time too long. At this point, expect many memes in the review to come 😉

P.S.

Let me know in comments if any of you are reading this book at the moment or plan to in the future!

25494343

Synopsis:

The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Glitz, glamours, and Shadowhunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare’s Dark Artifices series.

 

Current Read: A Court of Thorns and Roses

It has been a really long time since I’ve read a faerie themed book. That’s not because I don’t like them, it’s just that it’s been a long time since I’ve read a good one that I kind of put it off and out of my mind. That is until a certain BFF bookie (Jules Gray from https://perksofbeingabibliophile.wordpress.com/ GO CHECK HER OUT SHE IS AWESOME AND SO ARE HER REVIEWS!) told me about this one. So I’m giving it a shot. I’m at 70% and I have been for about four days now lol. I’ve been side tracked with some stuff so reading has kind of been put on the backburner, unfortunately. Have any of you read this? I know it’s a rather popular book, so I’m going to assume some of you have 😉 Feel free to leave a comment telling me what you thought about it! I’d love to hear some feedback.

16096824

Synopsis:

 A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

REVIEW: Playing the Player by Lisa Brown Roberts

25819482

Synopsis:

The Good Girl Vs. The Player
Round one begins…

Trina Clemons needed the money. Why else would she – the most organized, prepared student in school – spend the summer as a nanny and partner with the biggest slacker ever? Now she’s ready to tackle nannyhood with her big binder of research and schedules. Just don’t ask her about the secret job of “fixing” the bad habits of a certain high school player…

Slade Edmunds prefers easy hook-ups, and Trina is definitely not his type. She’s all structure and rules, while Slade wants to just have fun. Fortunately, Trina has no idea about the bet Slade made with his best friend that he can totally get her to unwind by the end of summer…

Then the weirdest thing happens. There’s chemistry. A lot of it.
But nothing gets between a boy and a girl like a big, fat secret…

REVIEW

I haven’t read a book this cute in a while. And I mean A WHILE. Most YA books today have explicit content through the roof, verging on NA territory, making it hard for me to find a YA read that won’t have me skipping the naughty pages. And finally I found that clean yet still romantic book in “Playing the Player” by Lisa Brown Roberts.

Trina is a girl who likes things organized down to the minute, her life consisting of a folder filled with her day to day schedule that she is never without. Slade on the other hand finds that life is easier with a go-with-the-flow attitude. These wildly contrasting personalities collide when Slade and Trina are left with the responsibility of babysitting two five-year-olds for the summer. You can use your imagination to predict how well that goes lol.

I really enjoyed this book. I thought the author did a good job with coming up with a new twist to the whole bad boy versus good girl story that has been done so many times before. Slade had his duchy moments but more often than not he was really sweet and I liked how he and Trina slowly connected throughout the book – definitely not a case of insta-love here. I really loved the side of Trina that was funny and a little bit sarcastic. It only came out a few times in the book, but it was nice to see that she wasn’t some cold, frigid character that was uptight the entire story. Slade brought out those rare moments in her, making it even more special.

All in all I recommend this book for the younger YA readers and the people like me who favor a cleaner romance. Not to say this didn’t have it’s more adult moments, but nothing that would constitute as explicit. It was a good, well rounded story that I thoroughly enjoyed, and I look forward to reading more from this author 😉

Playing the Player by Lisa Brown Roberts = 4 stars

AUTHOR INFO :

Lisa Brown Roberts

Lisa Brown Roberts still hasn’t recovered from the teenage trauma of nearly tweezing off both eyebrows and having to pencil them in for an entire school year. This and other angst-filled memories inspire her to write YA books about navigating life’s painful and funny dramas, and falling in love along the way.

Her almost forever home is Colorado, though she occasionally pines for the days when she lived within walking distance of the Pacific Ocean. Her house is full of books, boys, several four-legged prima donnas, and lots of laughter.

http://www.lisabrownroberts.com
https://twitter.com/LBrownRoberts
https://www.facebook.com/authorLisaBr…
http://lbrownroberts.tumblr.com
http://instagram.com/lisabrownroberts
https://www.pinterest.com/lbrobertsau…