Sneak Peek ;)

A little sneak peek quote from my second latest project, also the longest book I’ve ever written 🙂 Super excited about this one!

Advertisements

STAR REVIEW: HUNTRESS BY JULIE HALL

35064610

Synopsis:

No one’s afterlife is as dispiriting as Audrey’s―at least that’s what she believes after waking up dead without her memories and being promptly assigned to hunt demons for the rest of eternity. She’s convinced God’s made a cosmic mistake; after all, she’d rather discuss the color of her nails than break them on angelic weapons.

It doesn’t help that her trainer, Logan, is as infuriating as he is attractive. And just when Audrey and Logan appear close to developing an amicable relationship, a decision made under duress pushes their hearts in a direction neither of them saw coming.

Despite her sub-par fighting abilities, an ancient weapon of unparalleled power chooses Audrey as its wielder, attracting the cautious gazes of her fellow hunters and the attention of Satan himself. With Satan’s eyes now fixed on Audrey, a battle for the safety of the living looms in the shadows.

STARS

Image result for three and a half stars

 

REVIEW: VAMPIRE GIRL BY KARPOV KINRADE

29769675

Synopsis:

You think it’s safe to walk alone at night. It’s not.

You think the only threat is other humans. It’s not.

Monsters are real. Demons are real. Vampires are real.

And I’m about to become one of them.

My name is Arianna Spero. I was an ordinary girl, living an ordinary life, until my mother lapsed into a coma. Now, I am her only hope. She made a deal with the devil, and on my 18th birthday he came to collect. But there’s a way to save her. There’s something the princes of hell want more than my mother.

Me.

So I signed my soul away and promised to pick a prince to marry. I would take the blood oath, become one of them, and give them an heir. I would become a princess of hell, and my mother would live.

I expected fire and brimstone. I expected pain and misery. I didn’t expect beauty. I didn’t expect magic.

I didn’t expect love.

But the princes are keeping secrets from me.

Secrets that could shatter everything.

REVIEW

Well, it had vampire in the title. The cover looked cool. And I love me some weird plots. Check, check, and…check! So naturally I had pretty high hopes for this book. It’s been a while since I read a vamp themed YA and I was curious how the author was going to fit both blood suckers and demons into one plot line. Turns out it wasn’t how I thought it would be. At all. But instead of telling you and spilling the beans, I’ll show you how I felt about it.

Any hoo…never mind that. Back to the review.

I liked the idea for the story, the originality of it and some of the plot twists, but still, I found a lot to be desired. A lot goes on in this read, both romantically, politically, and, well, everything else. And that was my biggest problem with it. There was TOO much going on and it felt like I was being pulled in a hundred different directions. Which do I focus on first? I had no clue, which had me lagging to finish this until today.

I’ll admit that I liked Fen (our main man) and the clean writing style, but I wasn’t sold on Ari, and some of the things that happened never got explained like they should have in the first book of a series. A lot was left a mystery, which can be a good or a bad thing depending on the story. I just would have liked a bit more explanation on some of the things this book centered on.

Overall it was a solid read, but I was left kind of disappointed in the end because I was looking for something a bit more exciting. Though I’ll tell you this, I wasn’t expecting how the book ended :0

VAMPIRE GIRL BY KARPOV KINRADE = 3 STARS

 

Lady Midnight Update

Current Page: 121 (yes, I am aware I am moving at a snail’s pace with this read)

How I feel about it:

Why: Because stuff is just getting interesting ;-p

Current Read: A Court of Thorns and Roses

It has been a really long time since I’ve read a faerie themed book. That’s not because I don’t like them, it’s just that it’s been a long time since I’ve read a good one that I kind of put it off and out of my mind. That is until a certain BFF bookie (Jules Gray from https://perksofbeingabibliophile.wordpress.com/ GO CHECK HER OUT SHE IS AWESOME AND SO ARE HER REVIEWS!) told me about this one. So I’m giving it a shot. I’m at 70% and I have been for about four days now lol. I’ve been side tracked with some stuff so reading has kind of been put on the backburner, unfortunately. Have any of you read this? I know it’s a rather popular book, so I’m going to assume some of you have 😉 Feel free to leave a comment telling me what you thought about it! I’d love to hear some feedback.

16096824

Synopsis:

 A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

REVIEW : Divine Vices (Divine Vices, #1) by Melissa Parkin

18761168

Synopsis:

The last thing sixteen-year-old Cassie Foster needs is trouble, but that doesn’t stop him from finding her.

Nine months after the tragic accident that killed her mother and sister, this high school junior just wants a fresh start. Settling down in the quiet town of New Haven, Maine, she’s found peace at last…until the new resident bad boy, Jackson Matthews, comes into the picture. Arrogant, sarcastic, and devastatingly sexy, he’s the very last thing Cassie wants to entertain. Romance was never part of the plan. But when terrifying circumstances drive these two together, she finds herself further in over her head than thought possible. As local girls begin disappearing, Cassie can’t help but wonder if it’s just a coincidence that everything started when this blue-eyed Casanova strolled into town. Will falling into Jackson’s arms mean she’ll be falling victim to a real lady-killer…or worse?

The answer will open the door to a world she never thought possible.

REVIEW

*I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review*

So…I’ve been mulling over for the last twenty-four hours how I want to write this review. Usually I have exactly what I want to say ready when I finish a book, but this one was different. There was so much going on, so many twists and turns that even now, a day after I’ve read it, I’m still confused as to what all happened lol. Having said that, I have determined that the best way to lay out my thoughts is to simply do a like and dislike column, as inserted below.

Likes :

  1. The characters were all unique, described nicely, and had likeable personalities.
  2. The storyline was unlike any I have read before in Young Adult Paranormal.
  3. There were plenty of comical moments to lighten up the normally darker mood of the book.
  4. The end left you questioning and wanting more.

Dislikes :

  1. Way too many plot lines happening. It felt like four books could have been made out of this one, all in different genres. It was pretty confusing at times what the hell was actually happening lol.
  2. Dialogue made up 95% of this book. I felt like more world building and scene description was needed instead of just pages and pages of strict dialogue.
  3. Three quarters of this book read more as a murder mystery than a YA paranormal. I actually had to look up some reviews on Goodreads half way through reading it to make sure this wasn’t actually a crime fiction novel. I would have liked to see the paranormal aspect come in to play a lot sooner.
  4. That ending – though it was good – was completely unexpected and left off at a weird time in the book. I know the author gives a small preview of the second book at the end, but it felt kind of…awkward. And confusing. Heck, this whole thing had me scratching my head most of the time, to be honest.

All in all this book wasn’t great but it wasn’t bad either. Maybe I’m just too slow in catching on to multidimensional plot lines or something. But in the end it did catch my interest and I guess that made it worth reading/finishing. Over all, “Divine Vices” is definitely a book you’ll remember if you decide to give it a chance and read it.

Divine Vices (Divine Vices, #1) by Melissa Parkin = 3 stars

AUTHOR INFO

Melissa Parkin

Melissa Parkin is a Chicagoland native who feels weird referring to herself in the third person. When she’s not binge reading, taking photographs, breaking the first rule of Fight Club, or playing music too loud, she’s writing young adult paranormal romances.

Give Me the Push

I’m a YA romance writer. I know, I’m sharing state secrets lol. But honestly that’s what I love to write. Though something you probably don’t know is that I’ve been working on a YA paranormal story since January. I know you all may be gasping right now at your screen (I’m being very sarcastic) but this is something I’ve really wanted to do since I started writing. Little did I know that writing paranormal would kick my butt. Seriously, it is so frigging hard! And not only did I want to write a paranormal, but I also wanted to create my own race of paranormal beings *smacks self in the head*. What I’m trying to get at here is that I really need the motivation to finish this monster. And that is why I’m giving you guys a sneak peak of my new YA paranormal series. I really want you tell me in comments if this is a story you would want to read. And if it just isn’t your thing (paranormal I mean) well…don’t comment I guess lol.

 Okay, without further ado, I give you Finding My Halo (Senoviam #1)

Again, don’t forget to comment! It would help me out in a huge way.

I thought my world was messed up before. You know, with being friendless and thrown into a massive high school with never having attended one in my life. But that goes to show you that one should never assume the worst has happened…until it does.

When senior year started, I thought my biggest stress would be bitchy cheerleaders slamming me into lockers and being spit on in the front row by Mr. Locklin, who sprays instead of speaks – if the rumors are true. Never did I think it would be a treat compared to being hunted by smoke creatures because I’m the declared mate to the most powerful Senoviam that has ever existed. That wouldn’t be so bad if I knew what a freaking Senoviam WAS.

But so what if he’s drool worthy? As long as I have a towel on stand by to wipe up said drool, I can avoid those glowing hazel eyes that make me come alive. Throw in some family drama and a bunch of centuries old people teaching you how to throw sharp things and you have one interesting senior year of high school.

Don’t be jealous.